I need a PEE, more hours in the day and a personal networker.

Leave a comment

October 2, 2014 by johnnyseifertradio

The fourth lesson I learnt when revising for an exam is to always make a point, provide some evidence and analyse it with an explanation. Today’s blog is based on an issue that has arisen that effects my personal and work life for one day.

Point: Tomorrow is Yom Kippur in the Jewish religion, the day of atonement starting at 18:16 with a twenty-five hour fast with no technology being used. From 16:30-17:30 I have an audition for  a TV show and need to be at the Synagogue at 18:20. I can make it to Synagogue in time but how will I be ready for the fast if I do the audition?

Evidence: According to Leviticus 23, G-d said “Howbeit on the tenth day of this seventh month (in the Jewish calendar) is the day of atonement; there shall be a holy convocation unto you, and ye shall afflict your souls”.

Explanation: My issue is how I can do both at the same time. Firstly, lets look at my trying-TV career. Over the past couple of years I have appeared on various game shows both broadcasted and piloted. I get a thrill on being in front of the camera and love showing my personality. The reason I do a lot of pilots is that it is likely that the producers and casters will remember me and suggest me to do further shows piloted or hopefully aired. Furthermore, it is good to be known in the industry and it all comes back to the phrase that we hear time and time again networking. On the other hand we have my religious attributes. I am a normal orthodox North-West London Jew who loves the culture and being immersed into the community. However, this is the one day that is taken seriously and it is a chance to cleanse the soul and start again. I am not superstitious but I like to have a belief that the next year will be better then the previous year with more opportunities being offered.

So the question is, what do I do to make sure that I do not harm my future due to one hour? The answer is to focus on the TV as my religion will always be there and hope G-d gives me a guiding hand to help me get to be where I want to be in the future. I will make sure I eat a big lunch and then after the audition make sure I have enough food to sustain me through the night. According to one source, a punnet of grapes is a good way to line the stomach ready for fasting.

What I want to demonstrate in this blog is that whilst I have two conflicting events to attend, I want to show that you have to think about what is more important in the long run then in the short run. This life lesson came in very valuable when I chose which University to go to four years ago. I decided on going to Birmingham City University to study radio when I could have gone to University Of Birmingham and studied any humanities course as I had the grades. In the short run, I would have lived with friends and got to a enjoy campus lifestyle. However, in the long run I have been equipped with a tool box with the skills and expertise required to enter the radio industry.

Leave a Reply

Just like you there are

  • 22,533 Radio anoraks like you
